California Community Choice: An Interactive Map

Operational Community Choice agencies:

Please feel free to browse the map, or click here for instructions.

Map updated: 4/21/2017

How to use this map:

This map, updated weekly, shows the evolving development of Community Choice in California. The unique aspect of this map is that it includes information for all 58 counties and all 482 incorporated cities in the state. Each color represents one of six levels of program development, in addition to those that are ineligible because they are served by a municipal public utility or Irrigation District.

To learn about the progress of Community Choice, click on any county and its respective cities. Please note that most counties have a mixed composition of program development among their cities. We assign each county the color that represents the level corresponding to most of the county. Click on the cities for more detail.

The county and city information boxes may contain website links. Some of these links will need to be pasted into your browser’s address bar.

Information for this map comes from a variety of sources. We strive to keep the map as current and accurate as possible, though the process involves some subjectivity and there may be delays in updating the data. We welcome your feedback.

Click here to return to the map.

Data Sources:

Population: California Department of Finance
Info about utility service areas: California Energy Commission 
Info about electrical load: California Energy Commission Energy Almanac
Info about status of CCA efforts: City and County websites

If you have questions, comments, or updates, please contact Woody Hastings,